Herkimer BOCES Heavy Equipment Class of 2022 at graduation

HERKIMER – More than 180 local students were recently recognized for completing their Career and Technical Education programs at Herkimer-Fulton-Hamilton-Otsego BOCES.

During the closing comments, Herkimer BOCES Technical Education Principal Zane Mahar spoke about the importance of partnerships – such as among Herkimer BOCES, Herkimer College and local businesses and also among students, their teachers and their families.

After asking students to thank their families and saying that nobody makes it alone, Mahar said he hopes the students have continued success in their lives.

“I wish you nothing but the best,” he said.

The CTE completion ceremony took place on Tuesday, June 14, at Herkimer College. Students from the 14 Herkimer BOCES CTE programs received completion certificates for finishing the two-year programs they took as high-school juniors and seniors and were recognized for awards and scholarships they won.

During the ceremony, Herkimer BOCES students Kelsee Yost, of Health Occupations Students of America, and Emma Kocienda, of SkillsUSA, led “The Pledge of Allegiance.” Representatives from the Rural Schools Association of New York State presented awards to Visual Communications Media Arts students. Mahar, Technical Education Assistant Principal Dennis Hooks, District Superintendent Sandra Sherwood and Herkimer BOCES Board of Education President Thomas Shypski announced and presented the completion certificates and awards to the students.

Messages to the graduates and their families were given by Mahar, Sherwood and Herkimer College Associate Dean of Academic Affairs for the Business/Health/Science/Technology Division William McDonald. New York State Trooper Olivia Tabor, who graduated from Poland Central School District and completed the Herkimer BOCES Criminal Justice program in 2009, gave the keynote speech.

Sherwood praised the students for their program completion during COVID-19 and more.

“Congratulations to all of our graduates,” she said. “You have worked hard and persevered through some very challenging times in our society.”

Sherwood asked students to thank their parents and guardians for being their first teachers, and she encouraged them to help their communities and make the world a better place for all of us.

“I look forward to watching all of the great things you’re going to do as young adults,” she said.

McDonald said he is a big supporter of BOCES and that the Herkimer College partnership with Herkimer BOCES “is strong and growing stronger by the day.” He told graduates to take pride in their accomplishment and celebrate their path forward.

Tabor congratulated the students for completing their programs and doing so through COVID-19 and periods of virtual learning.

“It’s amazing that you guys have stayed strong and are able to be here,” she said.

Tabor told students that the fundamentals she learned at Herkimer BOCES have been very helpful for her. She said BOCES students benefit from having instructors who have experienced working in the career fields they are teaching, and she encouraged students to maintain the resources and connections created through their time at BOCES.

“As a graduate from the Herkimer BOCES Criminal Justice program, the things I learned during those couple of years have stayed with me throughout my entire career,” she said.

As students enter their next period of life with adult responsibilities, Tabor recommended that they stay humble, treat the people who have always been there for them well and keep up the effort.

“You only get out what you put into it,” she said.

View more photos from the CTE completion ceremony on our Facebook page or go directly to the post by clicking here.

2022 Herkimer BOCES CTE graduates:

The following is a list of students who completed Herkimer BOCES CTE programs this school year.

Advanced Manufacturing:

  • Emily Almond
  • Rebecka Brewer
  • Richard Brown Jr.
  • Nicholas Crafton
  • Charles DeCarr
  • Logan DeGuarde
  • Dylan Gibson
  • Brianna Holtz
  • Christopher Janis
  • Rose Johnson
  • Christopher Latendress
  • Jenna Lyman
  • Aleksandra Melko
  • Reid Pratt
  • Luke Tyson


Automotive Technology:  

  • Ryan Calhoun
  • Zackary Comstock
  • McKyle Coon
  • Anthony Cvetezar
  • Duante Delgado
  • Zachary Doolen
  • Marshall Fire-Hoke
  • Ryan Fox
  • Alexia Jaikin
  • Cheyenne Jodway
  • Josiah Pressley
  • Ashton Young

Building Construction:

  • Gehrig Barnes
  • David Dygert III
  • Matthew Evans
  • Dean Fisher Jr.
  • Thomas Graml
  • Scott Gushue
  • Keegan Harter
  • William Ingersoll
  • Connor Kuchman
  • Connor Millington
  • Matthew Oldick
  • Dylan Pashke
  • Brian Reile
  • Jordyn Seamon
  • Kelly Sheldrick
  • Austin Suits
  • Tyrus VanBuren
  • Christopher Wasyleski


Child and Family Services:

  • Madison Barretta
  • Hannah Bowman
  • Kassidy Brown
  • Jamie Castellano
  • Jolie Doherty
  • Kaitlynn Ovitt
  • Adrienna Owens
  • Abigale Polhamus
  • Kalie Schnitt
  • Angela Stallman
  • Sarah Wood



  • Caleb Bennett
  • Chase Brewer
  • Donald Gatto
  • Izaick Kerr
  • Justin LaCelle Jr.
  • Jaiden Lawrence
  • Kathleen Marhaver
  • Jordan Mendez
  • Jake Parrotta
  • Alexander Scholl



  • RoseMarie Acker
  • Carly Bellinger
  • Katie Borquez
  • AnNi Carroll
  • Natalie Fredericks
  • Kamryn Koch
  • Emma Kocienda
  • Olyvia Manella
  • Ariana Marchese
  • Mackenzie Ritton
  • Isabella Santiago
  • Abigail Scouten
  • Sarah Slowik
  • Kalie Wheat
  • Nicholas Wiediger


Criminal Justice:

  • Hayley Barringer
  • Brett Berwick
  • Alexander Bronson
  • Cameron DiMartino
  • Caiden Fazekas
  • Amealio Judson
  • Skyeleigh Keeler
  • Michael Larkin Jr.
  • Bridget Martinez
  • Joseph Mitchell
  • Rebekah Nichols
  • Aaliyah Pennicooke
  • Tucker Rockwell
  • Montana Schorer
  • Hailey Smith
  • Zoryana Tarasenko



  • Faith Artz
  • John Boardman
  • Cheyenne Bole
  • Nathyn Ebensperger
  • Hannah Metz
  • Konrad Ough
  • Joel Torres


Health Science Careers:

  • Kathryn Beck
  • Alleah Benson
  • Jaeden Coffey
  • Arianna Evans
  • Abgail Fasani
  • Olivia Fitch
  • Sierra Grogan
  • Leanne Kennedy
  • Chloe King
  • Sofia Kucerak
  • Connie Morrison
  • Jordan Murphy
  • Giavanna Nitti
  • Riley Palen
  • Alyvia Pizer
  • Emma Rando
  • Victoria Whittle
  • Kelsee Yost


Heavy Equipment:

  • Jacob Baird
  • Aden Beacraft
  • Devin Bruce
  • Collin Dayton
  • Jesse Dedla
  • Joshua Emrich
  • Patrick Fountain
  • Hunter Gilman
  • Jesse Gorinshek
  • Trevor Holden
  • Michael Hovey
  • Colby LaQuee
  • John Michael
  • Spencer Morgan
  • Tanner Nichols
  • Allen Parker
  • Marion Proctor
  • Brian Spencer


Network Administration:

  • Kyle Altrock
  • Michael DeMars
  • Aidan Ferris
  • Katlyn Gould
  • Gage Knoblauch
  • Lucas Mickle
  • Brandon Teuscher


Outdoor Power Equipment:

  • Zachary Aversa
  • Collon Gallt
  • Mattais Hayes
  • Vladimir Hula
  • Hunter Iamele
  • Adam Lamphere
  • Ericson Lien
  • Blake McCord
  • Lucas Rich
  • John Rogers
  • Jacob Wystozaly


Visual Communications Media Arts:

  • Olivia Bienkowski
  • Savannah Dennis
  • Delaney Kerr
  • Tracy Palmieri
  • Madison Radziewicz
  • Gabrielle Ross
  • Renee Whitton


Welding and Metal Fabrication Technology:

  • Ian Amendolare
  • James Costello
  • Ashton Daley
  • Brayden Hart
  • Dylan Hart
  • Jacob Huyck
  • Steven Kucerak
  • Ethan Lindsay
  • Gavin Maine
  • Derek Maxwell
  • Alfonse Nitti
  • Shane Pardee
  • Cameron Rath
  • Skye Simmons
  • Tre Stemmer
  • Hunter Stowell
  • Kobly Weakley
  • Cael Wellenstein